French 75 Recipe

I’m not a huge fan of champagne, but my years behind the bar have given me an appreciation for this festive, bubbly drink. I still rarely drink it straight, but it is pretty fantastic in fancy cocktails. Including my favorite, the French 75!

The French 75 is a classic cocktail that consists of gin, powdered sugar, champagne, and fresh squeezed lemon juice.

French 75 Recipe
 In a shaker, add one 2 oz shot of gin, 1 oz of fresh squeezed lemon juice, 1 tablespoon of powdered sugar, and ice. Shake vigorously. Pour into a wine glass or old fashioned champagne glass (with no ice). Add champagne and rim the edge of the glass with a lemon twist.

French 75 Recipe

Because the predominant flavors of the cocktail come from the gin and the lemon, I recommend using higher end gin, like Hendricks (my fav) and a sweet Meyer lemon. You can get away with using cheaper champagne, but don’t go crazy with anything too sweet like Andre!

Leave a comment