Super Simple Pasta with Italian Sausage

Like every other food lover out there, Italian food is my kryptonite. I could eat pasta every day of the week if Eric would let me. It’s filling, delicious, and so easy to make! I manage to squeeze it into our diet about once a week so I’ve tried dozens of different ways to spice up my favorite starch. My favorite pasta topping has to be Italian sausage  – and tomatoes of course, but that’s a given. I usually make a scrumptious “red gravy” (a New Orleans version of bolognese), but it takes SO long! Sometimes I just can’t wait –  so I’ve figured out a much quicker way to whip up a delicious dish with all my favorite ingredients.

Super Simple Pasta with Italian Sausage

This super simple pasta takes about 30 minutes to prep and cook – perfect for a quick meal after a long day of work!

Ingredients: 

  • Pasta (any shape)
  • Ground Italian Sausage (substitute any other sausage if you don’t like fennel)
  • 1 Sweet Onion – diced
  • Garlic- cut small
  • 2 Roma Tomatoes -diced
  • Fresh Herbs: Basil, Parsley, Green Onion

Start by boiling water for the pasta and cooking down the onions. Add the sausage to the pan once the onion is almost soft. Add tomatoes and garlic once the meat is cooked through. Spice with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder. Cook down for 5 minutes. Add cut herbs at the very end and toss with cooked pasta. Optional: for a sweeter dish add a dash of balsamic vinegar.

Italian Sausage RecipeTop with parmesan and parsley and copious amounts!

Super Simple Pasta with Italian Sausage

Try this out for yourself and let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

