Preppy Style Without Breaking the Bank

Love that Kate Middleton preppy style? You too can get the nautical Nantucket look without breaking the bank with a little patience and resourcefulness!

Preppy Style on a Budget

My designer Inspiration Board  for my preppy style included: an Yves Saint Laurent boat neck sweaterThom Browne oxford button down shirtVictoria Beckham skinny jeansSperry Top-Sider boat shoesCoach handbagVersus gold watchJ Crew necklace, and Stella & Dot post earrings. This ensemble cost over $1,000, but I achieved almost the same exact look for only $100!

Preppy Style On A Budget

My outfit consisted of an oxford shirt from Buffalo Exchange {$8} and a simple, yet elegant striped sweater from Target {$22}, which happened to match my Walmart striped socks {$3}! I also got to wear my new jeans- a super skinny pair by Hollister that I snagged for only $18 at Platos Closet and my thrifted boat shoes {$7}! The centerpiece of this outfit is definitely the stunning statement Jcrew necklace which retails for $98 on their site, but I snagged for only $30 on eBay – or rather, my boyfriend did as part of my Christmas gift!

Jcrew Crystal Venus Flytrap Necklace

I loved my original outfit, but my new pair of red skinny jeans from Wet Seal {$16} made it even better! I liked this outfit so much I had to wear it again on my trip to Oxford, MS- notoriously one of the preppiest town in the South.

Preppy Style on a Budget

It was awesome wearing an Oxford in Oxford – I think I fit in well!

Leave a Reply

