DIY Snow Globe Ornaments

Christmas is almost here, and that means I am up to my chin in glitter and crafts! Along with my DIY wreath, and budget friendly winter flower arrangements,  I also completed one of my cutest projects yet – Handmade Snow Globe Ornaments!

DIY Snow Globe Ornament

I got the idea for these gorgeous ornaments from My So Called Crafty Life, a wonderful blog that I highly recommend! I made some adjustments to Ashlee’s fabulous tutorial to make the project more affordable, but the end result is just as gorgeous! Now let’s get started on this tutorial!

DIY Snow Globe Ornaments

Materials you’ll need:

  • Plastic Wine Glasses
  • Serrated knife
  • Coasters
  • Paint (optional)
  • Mini Trees and Figurines
  • Fake Snow
  • Large Beads
  • Yarn or Ribbon
  • Ornament Hangers
  • Scissors
  • Hot Glue

DIY Snow Globe Ornament

Step 1: Cut the stem of the wine glass off carefully using a serrated knife. I recommend stuffing the glass with a dish towel to keep the plastic from cracking.

Step 2: Glue the figurines to the top of the coaster, then glue the plastic dome to the coaster.

Step 3: Using a funnel, add the fake snow to the snow globe.

Step 4: String a wire ornament hanger (or ribbon) through a large bead and hot glue in place. Glue the large bead to the top of the ornament, covering the hole completely.

Step 5: Decorate the ornament with yarn, ribbon, & bows, and Enjoy!

Watch me do this project on The 504 tomorrow night at 9pm on WUPL (cable channel 2, satellite 54). Happy Crafting!

Leave a Reply

