Thrifty Find: J.Crew Paisley Party Dress

 It’s wedding season!!!! And you know what that means… everyone is on the hunt for the perfect cocktail dress, including me! Unfortunately, I haven’t been very wow-ed by the selection at local malls or boutiques. I’m a little over peplum and high-low dresses, so the styles in-store aren’t too exciting for me right now, but I found a solution… Thirft Shops of course! Usually when I go thrifting I’m on a hunt for vintage apparel, but with a little patience I was able to score some fantastic dresses for the many lovely weddings I’m attending this spring. I’ll be posting all my thrifty finds and where I found them, but here’s one of my fav’s to start.

Thrifted Jcrew

This adorable paisley number is a J.Crew cocktail dress that retails at $144. I found it at Plato’s Closet in Metairie for only $16!!!!!!!! I knew I had to have it as soon as I saw the tag! Unfortunately it was incredibly tight on me (if you cant already tell by the pic). I magically was able to zip it all the way up, even though it was a 00 and I am a 2, but I knew I could never wear it for a meal/dancing so I had to some DIY alterations.

DIY Alterations

To add some extra width to the bust and waist, I opened up the side and back seams and added the extra fabric from the in-seam. I also had to remove some of the lining that made the dress oh-so snug. I needed to add at least two inches to breath comfortably so I also used seam tape (in a complimentary green color) to line the zipper and add another haf inch. Ordinarily I wouldn’t do something that would call this much attention to the zipper, but since exposed zippers are in right now, I decided to go for it!

Jcrew Paisley DressNow this fabulous dress fits me perfectly and I got it for almost 90% OFF the retail price! Stay tuned for more pics of all the fabulous frocks I snagged this month!

One thought on “Thrifty Find: J.Crew Paisley Party Dress

Leave a Reply

