Thrift Shop Treasures!

Have you ever gone to a thrift shop and found something so incredible you just had to take a photo?!?! Ya, that happens to me ALL THE TIME!!!! It’s the only thing that stops me from purchasing the beautiful antiques that I have absolutely no room for in my tiny shot gun house. I had truly miraculous trip to my local thrift shop a week ago… I didn’t even buy anything that great, but I saw some AMAZING antiques, including these gorgeous 70’s velvet couches!

I’m a total sucker for the style couch. Eric’s grandparents have a blue floral velvet couch in their sitting room that I am absolutely in love with! I know a lot of people think this style is tacky and outdated, but I couldn’t disagree more! The Mod boxiness of the couch compliments the soft fabric it is upholstered in and the floral print is very reminiscent of the lavish patterned shift dresses and polyester blouses of the 60’s and 70’s. 

 I also spotted this very rare antique. Did you figure out what it is yet? Ready to be amazed??? This silver vase is actually a prohibition era martini shaker. Super Cool, Right?!??!?!? I learned all about these disguised martini shakers recently when I went to the Southern Food and Beverage Museum. They are quite rare and can be expensive. This one was less than $20, but it was missing the lid!!! Making it lose its’ value almost entirely. But it’s still awesome that it was innocently perched on a shelf next to dusty VHS tapes. 

Finally, I also found this lovely antique treasure, a hand crank film projector. I have absolutely no purpose for it, but it sure is pretty!!!!! And only $19!

You never know what you’re gonna find at your neighborhood thrift shop. It really is like a magical treasure hunt, and I cannot get enough of it!!! I’m going to continue posting unique items I spot in the nooks and crannies of my favorite thrift shops. Stay tuned to find out what I come across next!

Leave a Reply

