DIY Upcycled Vintage Dress

Internet, meet my favorite vintage dress! It’s fun, flirty, and combines retro style with modern sensibility, but it didn’t start out too cute. Originally it was an over-sized 80’s frock in need of a serious face lift. 

DIY Alterations Before and After

Here’s what I did to revitalize this dress. Try it for yourself and let me know how it turns out!

Step 1: Cut the skirt to your desired length (leaving an extra inch for the hem). To do this, I measured where to cut by placing a full skirt that I like the length of on top of the un-cut dress.

Step 2: Pin up the bottom hem with a double fold to conceal the frayed edge. Alternatively, you can sew the unfinished end of the dress with an overlock stitch so the fabric doesn’t fray and then pin up a 1 inch hem with straight pins. {See an example of this HERE}

Step 4: Do a simple straight stitch across the hem with matching thread.

How To Do a Simple Hem

You’re half way there!!! Now for the bodice alterations.

Finally, I took in the bust and sleeve by removing the unnecessary fabric from the arm pit.

This can be a little complicated on a dress with sleeves if you are new to sewing so I recommend trying this on a sleeveless dress first, or removing the sleeves as I did in my From Muumuu to Marvelously Mod Tutorial.

DIY Vintage Dress Alterations

I am not the best seamstress and it only took me about an hour, so if you having sewing skills this will take you no time!

Find more DIY Fashion Projects HERE!

4 thoughts on “DIY Upcycled Vintage Dress

  1. Jenny, your DIY section is great! I’m about to search my own closet so I can end up with a great new dress!!!! Keep it coming!

Leave a Reply

