Apple KORS

Meet my twin brother Danny. Among the many things he loves in life Apple products have got to be up there in the top 10. Just this morning his facebook status read, “I don’t need a birthday – Not when I have the new #iPhone release to celebrate each year!”… then 4 hours later: “If #Apple announces app support for the #AppleTV today, this will literally be the greatest not birthday birthday ever”.  This photo really explains it all:

Obviously he’s a die-hard fan. 

I too love Apple, and am currently drooling over they’re newest Mac Book Pro with solid state & fancy retina display. But I’m not about to pretend I’m a techie, let’s be real, I solely use computers to blog, research, and manage my etsy store (plus facebook and all that junk). I may not know much about processors or GHz, but I do know about fashion, and let me tell you something, Mac has been the most stylish computer company since the 90’s when they debuted their line of candy apple colored desktops.

But they have taken their flair for style to the next level over the past few years. First designers like Kate Spade produced adorable iPhone covers sold in Mac stores worldwide, and now Michael Kors has designed a line of tech-savvy accessories exclusively for Apple.  

It’s High Fashion meets High Tech. Milan meets Silicon Valley. 

 “Fashion Meets Function”- apple.com

And my favorite….

Apple meets Kors

(The nerd in me LOVES that word pun)!

Painting by Paula Peacock

All kidding aside, this is truly a break though. For years, nerdy Project Runway contestants have attempted to merge the two fields into one genius article of clothing. Unfortunately, that has been pretty catastrophic in the past. But I must admit, this collection is a step in the right direction. In all honesty, I’m not a huge fan of Michael Kors. His purses are oversized and overpriced if you ask me, but I fell in love with two of his designs for the Apple Collection. Both are much slimmer and smaller than his ordinary designs (because they are made to fit slender mac books) and they both have a striking similarity to vintage purses. 

This simple and elegant brown leather laptop satchel looks like an updated version of a vintage Coach briefcase like the one below (so obviously I LOVE it). The Michael Kors bag is selling in the Mac Store for $119.95, surprisingly low for a Michael Kors purse, while the vintage Coach briefcase is selling on Etsy for $125 (a little steep for etsy, but still a good price for a fabulous bag).

 The other Apple-Kors creation I love is this tangerine Mac Book Air Sleeve.

The chic, slender, rectangular shape brings to mind the over-sized clutches of the 70’s and 80’s. Definitely wayyy cuter than the black micro fiber sleeve I keep my comp in! This one’s $99.95, but it doesn’t have a strap. I would just love to walk into a fancy business meeting holding this fabulous statement clutch only to pop out my computer in a single swift motion. I would just have to scream BAM! every time. 

Unfortunately not all the bags in the collection are as cute or practical as these. My favorite fail is the Wallet Clutch Case for the iPhone 4s. It has many inherent flaws in the the design. First of all, In order for the phone to be easily accessible it has to be able to slip out of the case with ease. However, that would also make it likely for the phone to fall out accidentally. If Michael Kors and his team thought about that issue they may have made it a tighter fit to keep the phones safe and sound in their cases. Unfortunately, that is a problem too. This would make the phone more inaccessible, causing the owners of these clutches to have to talk on the phone with it still in the wallet. I’m sure having credit cards in your face while you talk on the phone is quite unpleasant, let alone odd, and not practical for use while driving.  

The second major problem with the design is the fact that technology is constantly evolving, especially when it comes to iPhones. I remember when Coach, JCrew, and many other companies came out with similar cases for the iPhone years ago. Tons of people bought them without ever thinking about how useless they would be in the coming years. Just within the past few years the iPhone completely changed shape from a rounded device to a square boxy form. Moreover, many cases were not equipped with the holes necessary for camera lenses or flashes. Plus, it’s only a matter of time before the iPhone gets paper thin. 

The third problem I have with these wallets is that they are not clutches (as the name claims), they are very clearly wristlets, the impractical midget-ized bracelet purse that blew up a few years back, thanks to Coach, Dooney & Bourke and sorority girls. Though I must admit I too owned a few of these in their heyday, they are most definitely no longer in style, no matter how nice the leather is or how fancy the designer is.

I am thrilled to be a part of the generation that sees fashion and technology  bring together functionality and self expression. We might all be looking like Zenon Girl of The 20th Century sooner than we think. Whatever happens, I’m excited to see how these two industries will mold and shape one another in the years to come. 

Yall Come Back Now, Ya Hear

 

One thought on “Apple KORS

  1. This is the right blog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want…HaHa). You definitely put a new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Great stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

